Search the site
Vue de l'oeuvre
Monument to the Burghers of Calais
Auguste Rodin (1840-1917)
This sculptural group illustrates the heroism of the burghers of Calais. In this famous episode from the Hundred Years’ War, six citizens sacrificed themselves when they gave the keys of their city to the King of England in 1347, putting an end to a year-long siege. In 1894, Omer Dewavrin, the mayor of Calais, suggested to Rodin (through the intermediary of the sculptor Alphonse Prosper Isaac) that he might create a commemorative monument; he was officially awarded the commission the following year. Rodin decided at once to model the six figures―Eustache de Saint-Pierre, Jean d’Aire, Pierre and Jacques de Wissant, Andrieu d’Andres and Jean de Fiennes―as an indivisible group confronting the prospect of their tragic destiny together; however, he also chose to explore each individual’s character and emotions. After producing numerous models and studies of nude figures, hands and drapery (now on display at the Musée Rodin in Meudon), Rodin completed the final version of the monument in 1889. After casting, it was unveiled in Calais on June 3, 1895.
The Artwork in the museum
Musée Rodin - Meudon, Plaster Gallery
We cannot guarantee the presence of all our artworks; some may be out on loan.
Completion date :
H. 225 cm ; W. 240 cm ; D. 200 cm
Inventory number :
© Photographic Agency of musée Rodin - Jérome Manoukian
- Burghers of Calais(zip, 807.3 ko)